WFTV Pat Llewellyn Winners Announced - 17 June 2021

Liz Tucker who chairs the  WFTV Pat Llewellyn Bursary, sponsored by the BBC, Channel 4, ITV, ALL3Media and the Welsh Government, has revealed the winners for this year’s unscripted TV development bursaries.

In the Welsh category of the award, the two successful candidates who are both bilingual Welsh speakers, Eirlys Berlin and Caitlin Kelly, will each get £10,000. In the English, Northern Irish and Scottish category, the winners are Matilda Hay, Natasha Jarvis and Lauren York. Matilda receives £4,000, Natasha £10,000 and Lauren £6,000.

Liz said
: “When we opened this year’s entries we asked candidates to look for the next Louis Theroux, Stacey Dooley or Nadia Hussain, which may seem a tough ask, but we have been really impressed by the hugely impressive on-screen talent that our winners have managed to discover.

Equally importantly, they have found some really exciting new diverse and inclusive talent including the Scottish-Nigerian climate advocate Eunice Olumide and Chelsey Jay, proud Essex girl who says being disabled is “not a pity party.” With the current lack of female diversity on-screen, these are voices that really need to be heard”.

The other members of the Bursary Committee are Fiona Campbell, Controller BBC Three; Sue Murphy, Head of Factual Entertainment, ITV; Jane Root, CEO Nutopia; Kate Townsend, Director of Original Documentaries, Netflix; Kelly Webb-Lamb, Deputy Director of Programmes, Channel 4; Tim Whitwell, Creative Director, Shine TV and Pat Younge, MD Cardiff Productions.

The annual bursary is in tribute to the award-winning producer Pat Llewellyn, who died in 2017. She was responsible for launching the TV careers of Gordon Ramsay, Jamie Oliver and Mary Portas.

<< back to news